Rediscovering love for black and white photography

I’ve mentioned before how I only did black and white when I started with photography. Besides making me a little bit afraid of color photography, It also made me resent black and white. It’s like when your mom forces you to eat something, then you don’t want to eat it ever again. You know?

Well, that happened to me. However, little by little I’ve started to find love for B&W photography again and I wanted to share this image with you.

black and white photography mafe roig blog

Even when I took it I imagined it in black and white. I also did a color version, but I love in in monochrome. I feel it really enhances her features and her beautiful freckles.

Some photos just work in color and some just work in black and white. I plan to write a little about this in the future, but I’m waiting until I have enough examples to explain myself.

How do you feel about color VS. black and white photography? Let me know, I’ll be happy to hear what you think!

11 thoughts on “Rediscovering love for black and white photography

  1. Maif,
    I tend to like B&W better than color. Color is often a distraction from the subjects that I shoot. My motto is “if it doesn’t add to the image, leave the color out.” Having said that, I know this is a personal choice and that color is the best choice for many images.
    Tim

Leave a Reply

